Skip to content

Scientific Advisory Committee

Members of the Scientific Advisory Committee are appointed to advise the University of California on the direction and priorities of the TRDRP.
Members represent major California organizations and groups involved in tobacco-related health research and tobacco control efforts. Each member serves a three-year term without compensation and agrees to refrain from seeking TRDRP funding during tenure on the committee.

Rebecca Williams, Dr.P.H., M.P.H.
Chief, Evaluation and Surveillance Section 
California Tobacco Control Program
California Department of Public Health
Representing: California Department of Public Health 
Term: 2018-2023

Jerold A. Last, Ph.D. 
Vice Chair
Distinguished Professor, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
University of California, Davis
Representing: Environmental Sciences 
Term: 2015-2023

Benjamin Bowser, Ph.D.                     
Professor Emeritus
Department of Sociology and Social Services
California State University East Bay
Representing: Social Behavioral 
Term: 2020-2023

Susan Bradshaw, M.D., M.P.H.
Physician Specialist
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
Representing: Community-Based Provider
Term: 2019-2024

Naomi Hamburg, M.D., M.Sc.
Associate Professor
Boston University School of Medicine
Representing: Biomedical
Term: 2019-2023

Jim Knox, M.P.P.
Managing Director, Government Relations
American Cancer Society
Representing: American Cancer Society 
Term: 2020-2023

David Lee, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Cardiac Catheterization and Intervention Laboratories
Director, Interventional Cardiology Fellowship Program
Stanford University School of Medicine
Representing: American Heart Association 
Term: 2020-2023

Hala Madanat, Ph.D.
Interim Vice President of Research and Innovation
Distinguished Professor, School of Public Health
Core Investigator, Institute for Behavioral and Community Health 
San Diego State University
Representing: Tobacco-Related Disease Research Institution
Term: 2020-2024

Enid Neptune, M.D.
Associate Professor
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Institute of Genetic Medicine
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Representing: Professional Medical Organization
Term: 2020-2024

Chunxia Wang, Ph.D.
Education Research and Evaluation Consultant 
Tobacco Use Prevention Education Office
California Department of Education 
Representing: California Department of Education 
Term: 2019-2023